Designing album art for music artist ‘Kingston’.

For a work experience placement required in my last year at school, I chose to spend a week at a printing and graphic design company based in High Wycombe, called ‘Your Print Solution’.

At the start of the week it was presented to me that I could select a project of my own, and see it through the full week. I chose to design some pieces for a friend I had worked with who is an up-and-coming music artist. I set myself the task of creating an album cover, stadium concert ticket and poster. The following was the result:

The design process included many steep learning curves in learning Adobe Photoshop and InDesign, which are skills that have since been developed on my college course. Both myself and my mentor for the week were happy with the results. These designs were fully printed and cut into physical pieces for me to take away.

Also during the week, I worked with Adobe Lightroom, where I edited some photos to learn the basics of this software. The following are photos I edited during the week at YPS.

The week was invaluable experience and provided perfect foundations for the skills I have since developed at college. Using Adobe software programmes during this week helped significantly as I continued to use these same programmes on a bigger scale during my course.

Thanks to Company founder Steve for giving me a desk for the week!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started